Committee on Gender Equity

The Committee on Gender Equity helps raise awareness of issues of gender- or sexuality-based discrimination confronting scholars, students, and professionals in the fields of East European, Russian, and Eurasian studies. The Committee does this both through evidence-based reporting and analysis based on data collected in surveys, and at forums held at the annual ASEEES convention to raise and discuss pertinent issues.

Established in 1988 as the Committee on the Status of Women; renamed the Committee on Gender Equity in 2024

  • Anne Eakin Moss, U of Chicago, 2021-2024, Chair
  • Sara Dickinson, U of Genoa, 2023-2024 (ex officio as AWSS president)
  • Ksenia Un, 2024 (graduate student rep)

ASEEES Staff Liaison: Leah Valtin-Erwin, Grants and Programs Coordinator