Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies

The Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies, established in 2008 and sponsored by the Kathryn W. and Shelby Cullom Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies at Harvard University, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eurasia, or Eastern Europe in anthropology, political science, sociology, or geography in the previous calendar year. The Davis Center Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES National Convention.


Rules of eligibility for the Davis Center book prize competition are as follows:

    • The publication date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication. For example, the book must have been a publication date of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. If no publication date is listed, the copyright date will be taken as the publication date.
    • The book must be originally in the form of a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • The book must be originally published in English.
    • Authors may be of any nationality
    • Works may deal with any area of Russia, Eurasia, or Eastern Europe.
    • The competition is open to works of scholarship in anthropology, political science, sociology, or geography, and also to social science works that cross strict disciplinary boundaries.
    • Textbooks, collections, translations (including self-nominations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
    • Self-published books are ineligible.

A book can be nominated by the publisher or the author only. The nominator (publisher or author) is responsible for sending copies of the book to the prize committee members.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Davis Center prize. As of 2020 books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.) Please send one copy as an ebook to aseees-prizes@pitt.edu. (ASEEES will require two copies of the winning book to be sent to us but cannot accept print books at this time.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Davis Center Book Prize Nomination.” 

Please direct questions to aseees-prizes@pitt.edu.

The winner of the 2024 Davis Center Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Gulnaz Sharafutdinova, Kings College London (UK), 2023-2024 (Chair)
Print books are preferred. Please email aseees-prizes@pitt.edu for the mailing address.
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:

Lenka Bustikova-Siroky, U of Florida, 2024-2026
Print books are preferred. They can be sent to:
Lenka Bustikova-Siroky
Center for European Studies, University of Florida
3324A Turlington Hall
PO Box 117342
Gainesville, FL 32611
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:

Fabio Mattioli, U of Melbourne (Australia), 2023-2025
Print books are preferred. They can be sent to:
Fabio Mattioli
Room W401, Level 4
John Medley (Building 191), The University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC 3010
Due to the length of delay with posting to Australia, please send ebooks, as well. They can be sent to: fabio.mattioli@unimelb.edu.au


(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.