Weiser Center Article Prize

The Weiser Center for Europe and Eurasia Article Prize, established in 2024 and sponsored by the Weiser Center for Europe and Eurasia (WCEE) at the University of Michigan, is awarded annually for an outstanding English-language research article in the social sciences by a junior scholar published in a peer-reviewed journal. The Article Prize carries a $1,000 cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention. 


Rules of eligibility for the Weiser Center for Europe and Eurasia Article Prize competition are as follows:

  • The article must be original research published in a peer-reviewed journal and have undergone a standard peer-review process prior to publication. Non-peer reviewed essays, review essays, reports, research notes, and book reviews are ineligible.

  • The article may deal with any area of Eastern Europe or Eurasia and in any discipline of the social sciences.

  • The article must be originally published in English. Translated works are ineligible.

  • The article must have been published in the calendar year preceding the competition. For example, the article must have been published in a journal issue with a publication year of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. Publication year is determined by the date the full issue of the journal was published, regardless of whether the article was published online first (FirstView, etc.).

  • Articles by single authors or a group of authors are permitted to apply.

  • The article’s author may not have received their doctoral degree more than ten years prior to the article’s publication year. In the case of multiple authors, this rule applies to the lead author only. Applicants who have completed their doctoral degree may be asked to provide proof of PhD obtention date as part of their submission. Graduate students are eligible to submit articles.

  • Authors may be of any nationality.


An article should be submitted by the primary author. An author can submit only one article. Submit the application (you will be asked to attach the article as a PDF) using this form. The article must be submitted for consideration no later than May 1. Articles not received by the deadline will not be considered.

Please direct questions to aseees-prizes@pitt.edu.


Amanda Gregg, Middlebury College, 2024-2025, Chair
Bruce Grant, New York University, 2024-2026
Mitchell Orenstein, University of Pennsylania, 2024-2026