W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize

The W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize, sponsored by Mary Lincoln, is awarded annually for an author's first published monograph or scholarly synthesis that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for the understanding of Russia's past. The Lincoln Book Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the Annual Convention. The prize was established in 2004 in memory of W. Bruce Lincoln, a Russian historian and a widely-read author.  


Rules of eligibility for the ASEEES W. Bruce Lincoln Book Prize competition are as follows:

    • The book must be an author's first published monograph or work of synthesis.
    • The publication date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication. For example, the book must have been a publication date of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. If no publication date is listed, the copyright date will be taken as the publication date.
    • The book must be published in English and in North America.
    • Authors may be of any nationality.
    • The geographic area of study is broadly defined as the territories of the former imperial Russian state and the Soviet Union. The book may deal with any period of history.
    • Textbooks, translations (including self-translations), reference works, or edited collections of essays are not eligible.
    • Self-published works are also ineligible.
    • Books that have received other prizes are eligible.

Nominating Instructions

A book can be nominated by the publisher or the author only. The nominator (publisher or author) is responsible for sending copies of the book to the prize committee members.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Lincoln Book Prize. As of 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Lincoln Book Prize Nomination.”

Please send questions to aseees-prizes@pitt.edu.

The winner of the 2024 Lincoln Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Andy Bruno, Northern Illinois U, 2022-2024 (Chair)
Print books are preferred. Please email aseees-prizes@pitt.edu for the mailing address.
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to: abruno2@niu.edu

Krista Goff, U of Miami, 2023-2025
Print books are preferred. They can be sent to:
Krista Goff
Department of History, University of Miami
PO Box 248107
Coral Gables, FL 33124
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to: kgoff@miami.edu

Kristin Roth-Ey, U College London (UK), 2024-2026
Print books are preferred. They can be sent to:
Kristin Roth-Ey
School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London
Gower Street
London W1CE 6BT
United Kingdom
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to: krothey@yahoo.com 


(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.