Marshall D. Shulman Book Prize

The Marshall D. Shulman Book Prize, established in 1987 and sponsored by the Harriman Institute of Columbia University, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph dealing with the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign-policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe published the previous year. The prize is dedicated to the encouragement of high quality studies of the international behavior of the countries of the former Communist Bloc. The Shulman Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.


Rules of eligibility for the Shulman book prize competition are as follows:

    • The publication date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication. For example, the book must have been a publication date of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. If no publication date is listed, the copyright date will be taken as the publication date.
    • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • The book must be originally published in English.
    • Authors may be of any nationality.
    • Works must be about international behavior of the countries of the former Communist Bloc.
    • Textbooks, collections, translations (including authorial translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
    • Self-published works are ineligible.

Nominating Instructions

A book can be nominated by the publisher or the author only. The nominator (publisher or author) is responsible for sending copies of the book to the prize committee members.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Shulman prize. As of 2020, books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Marshall Shulman Book Prize Nomination.”

Please direct questions to

The winner of the 2024 Shulman Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Elidor MëhilliCUNY Hunter College, 2022-2024 (Chair)
Ebooks are preferred. Please email them to:

Lorenz Luthi, McGill U (Canada), 2023-2025
Ebooks are preferred. Please email them to:

Milada Vachudova, UNC at Chapel Hill, 2024-2026
Both print books are ebooks are requested. Print books can be sent to:
Milada Vachudova
100 Hoot Owl Lane
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Ebooks can be sent to:


(For customs): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.