Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies

The Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies, established in 2019 and sponsored by the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University, recognizes a distinguished book in the field of Ukrainian studies that was published in the previous calendar year. The Pritsak Prize carries a cash award and is presented annually at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

The primary founder of Harvard’s Ukrainian Research Institute and the first Mykhailo S. Hrushevs’kyi Professor of Ukrainian History at Harvard, Omeljan Pritsak was an esteemed scholar of broad scope and erudition, who treated Ukrainian history and culture in close connection with the history and culture of its neighbors.


Rules of eligibility for the Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies competition are as follows:

  • The publication date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication. For example, the book must have been a publication date of 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 competition. If no publication date is listed, the copyright date will be taken as the publication date.
  • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
  • The book must be published originally in English.
  • Authors may be of any nationality. 
  • The competition is open to works in any discipline, dealing with any aspect of Ukrainian studies, including the works that put Ukrainian experiences in a broad comparative context.
  • Textbooks, translations (including self-translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
  • Self-published books are ineligible.


A book can be nominated by the publisher or the author only. The nominator (publisher or author) is responsible for sending copies of the book to the prize committee members.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for Pritsak prize. As of 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize.”

Please direct questions to

The winner of the 2024 Pritsak Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Margarita BalmacedaHarvard U/Seton Hall U, 2022-2024 (Chair)
Ebooks are preferred. Please email them to:

Yuliya Ilchuk, Stanford U, 2023-2025
Ebooks are preferred. Please email them to:

Sarah Phillips, Indiana U Bloomington, 2024-2026
Print books are preferred. They can be sent to:
Sarah Phillips
Department of Anthropology, Indiana University
SB 130
701 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47405
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:


(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.